Recreational fishers have a new voice to government, with the inaugural meeting of the Minister’s Recreational Fishing Advisory Council held today in Port Pirie.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone said this was an important election commitment he was proud to deliver for the state's recreational fishing community.

"The recreational fishing sector have asked for change, and we delivered with the creation of this new Council," said Minister Whetstone.

"All nine members met with me today and we had a positive meeting discussing a number of issues facing the recreational fishing sector.

"I congratulate Graham Keegan on being unanimously appointed as the Chair of the Council.

"A key task of the Minister's Recreational Fishing Advisory Council will be to develop a growth strategy for the sector.

"The Council will meet face-to-face three times a year, with the opportunity for the Chair to call more meetings if they wish.

"The Council has agreed to a public communique summarising the key outcomes of the meeting, which can be accessed at www.pir.sa.gov.au/mrfac."

The members of the Minister's Recreational Fishing Advisory Council are Graham Keegan, Ian Fitzgerald, John Thomas, Tracey Tito, Peter Teakle, Brian Wheadon, Amanda Whitehorn, Shane Mensforth and Dave Scholefield.

For more information on the Minister's Recreational Fishing Advisory Council go to www.pir.sa.gov.au/mrfac